13 February 2020
Vladimir Salamatov and Iosif Aronov gave a masterclass for students of the Higher School of Economics

Vladimir Salamatov, General Director of the International Trade and Integration Research Center (ITI), and Iosif Aronov, Director of Scientific Research, gave a masterclass «Safe products market: Role of businesses and the state» for students of the Higher School of Economics (HSE). The event was held as part of the optional course provided by the HSE Department of the Theory and Practice of Business-Government Interaction. The central topic of the masterclass was technical regulation as an element in the functioning of a safe products market.

Technical regulation of the market for goods ensures a balanced interaction between businesses and the state, making it possible to remedy some market defects such as incompleteness or asymmetry of the available information about a marketed product.

The system of technical regulation instruments is a set of complementary elements. The state is responsible for product safety. It establishes mandatory requirements, stimulates modernization of production facilities, controls the system of conformity assessment, and provides overall supervision. Product features are controled by the market.

The Eurasian Economic Commission (EEC) establishes technical regulations — mandatory requirements for items covered by technical regulation that are legally binding on the territory of the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU). In addition to EAEU technical regulations, Russia has its own technical regulations established by internal regulatory acts.

«The state keeps a watchful eye on the system of technical regulation instruments because this system must be in line with the latest trends. In early 2019, RusAccreditation prepared documentation about abolishing outdated mandatory requirements in conformity assessment. This was done as part of the ’regulatory guillotine’ project», Vladimir Salamatov reminded the audience. Read more about this on our website here: Vladimir Salamatov speaks about implementing the ’regulatory guillotine’ mechanism in RusAccreditation.

Businesses make their contribution to technical regulation by financing standards development. Standards are designed to ensure competitiveness, high quality, uniformity of measurements, interchangeability, compatibility, test data and measurement data comparability, as well as technical, economic, and statistical data comparability. However, standards also serve another purpose — to facilitate compliance with technical regulations.

«The way standards influence businesses is determined by the type of the economy: like economy, like standardization. For instance, in 1925 the Committee for Standardization was created by the Council of Labor and Defense, and in 1926 the first all-union standard OST-1 Wheat: Breeding Strains of Grains: Nomenclature was established. This reflected the fact that the USSR was an agriculture-based economy», Iosif Aronov pointed out.

Henk J. De Vries, a standardization researcher, estimates in his paper «Standards for business. How companies benefit from participation in international standards setting//IEC centenary challenge, IEC, Geneva, 2006» that every dollar invested in standardization can yield up to 500 dollars.

Conversely, when there is no compatibility (i.e. no standardization), adaptation costs increase. Examples are plentiful and include different types of power sockets, different track gauges, different types of smartphone chargers, etc.

During the masterclass, Vladimir Salamatov and Iosif Aronov also touched upon some other topics, such as types of requirements in technical regulations and standards; trade barriers and restrictions for Russian non-commodity non-energy exports; regional agreements and mutual recognition mechanisms; the role of public councils in Russia and globally.

ITI experts give masterclasses for HSE students every February. Read about previous masterclasses here:

"Specifics of the mode of interaction between businesses and the government amid trade wars"

"Public councils attached to government agencies. Specifics of the mode of interaction between businesses and the government"

13 февраля 2020
Владимир Саламатов и Иосиф Аронов провели мастер-класс для студентов Высшей школы экономики

Генеральный директор Исследовательского центра Международная торговля и интеграция Владимир Саламатов и Иосиф Аронов, научный руководитель центра, провели мастер-класс для студентов Высшей школы экономики «Рынок безопасной продукции: роль государства и бизнеса». Мероприятие прошло в рамках общеуниверситетского факультатива ВШЭ, организованного кафедрой теории и практики взаимодействия бизнеса и власти. Центральной темой мастер-класса являлось техническое регулирование как один из аспектов функционирования рынка безопасной продукции.

Техническое регулирование рынка товаров обеспечивает баланс взаимодействия государства и бизнеса, благодаря чему удаётся искоренить некоторые дефекты рынка, такие как, например, неполнота и асимметрия информации о продукции, поступающей на рынок.

Система инструментов технического регулирования — это совокупность элементов, которые гармонично дополняют друг друга. При этом государство отвечает за безопасность, устанавливает обязательные требования, стимулирует модернизацию производств, контролирует систему оценки соответствия и в целом осуществляет надзорные функции. Потребительские свойства товаров контролирует рынок.

Евразийская экономическая комиссия (ЕЭК) устанавливает обязательные для применения и исполнения на территории Евразийского экономического союза (ЕАЭС) требования к объектам технического регулирования — технический регламент. Но кроме технических регламентов ЕАЭС в нашей стране действуют технические регламенты, принятые нормативными правовыми актами Российской Федерации.

«Государство внимательно следит за системой инструментов технического регулирования, которая должна отвечать самым последним современным тенденциям. В начале 2019 года в рамках реализации механизма „регуляторной гильотины“ в Росаккредитации подготовили документы об отмене устаревших обязательных требований в сфере оценки соответствия», — напомнил аудитории Владимир Саламатов. Подробнее об этом читайте в нашем материале «Владимир Саламатов о реализации механизма „регуляторной гильотины“ в Росаккредитации».

Свою лепту в техническое регулирование вносит и бизнес — путём финансирования разработки стандартов, которые должны обеспечивать конкурентоспособность, качество, единство измерений, взаимозаменяемость, совместимость, сопоставимость результатов исследований (испытаний) и измерений, технических и экономико-статистических данных. Однако у них есть и другая задача — содействовать соблюдению технических регламентов.

«Влияние стандартизации на бизнес обусловлено типом экономики: какая экономика в стране, такая и стандартизация. Так, в 1925 году был образован Комитет по стандартизации при Совете труда и обороны, а в 1926 году был утверждён первый общесоюзный стандарт ОСТ 1 „Пшеница. Селекционные сорта зерна. Номенклатура“, что явилось отражением аграрного характера экономики СССР», — отметил Иосиф Аронов.

По оценкам исследователя стандартизации Henk J. De Vries, которые он приводит в научной работе под названием «Standards for business. How companies benefit from participation in international standards setting//IEC centenary challenge, IEC, Geneva, 2006», на каждый доллар США, затраченный на работы по стандартизации, бизнес может получить до 500 долларов прибыли.

Когда же совместимости (то есть стандартизации) нет, возрастают расходы на адаптацию. Примеров масса: это и различные типы электрических розеток, и различная ширина железнодорожной колеи, и различные типы зарядных устройств для смартфонов, и многое другое.

Также в ходе мастер-класса Владимир Саламатов и Иосиф Аронов затрагивали такие вопросы, как виды требований в технических регламентах и стандартах; барьеры и торговые ограничения для российского несырьевого неэнергетического экспорта; региональные соглашения и механизмы взаимного признания; роль общественных советов в России и мире.

Эксперты МТИ ежегодно проводят февральские мастер-классы в Высшей школе экономики. Предлагаем вам ознакомиться с темами предыдущих мастер-классов:

«Особенности формата взаимодействия бизнеса и власти в условиях торговых войн»
«Общественные советы при Федеральных органах исполнительной власти. Особенности формата взаимодействия бизнеса и власти»