06 February 2019
Myths of Technical Regulation in the Field of International Trade

ITI experts have published an article in the Standards and Quality journal. In the article entitled Myths of Technical Regulation in the Field of International Trade, Vladimir Salamatov, Iosif Aronov, and Anna Rybakova explore issues related to the implementation of the International Cooperation and Exports national program introduced by the President's Executive Order No 204 dated May 07, 2018.

Using the examples of exports in certain commodity groups from EAEU countries to Mongolia and of the introduction of compulsory certification for steel in India, the authors demonstrate that in some cases a new technical measure introduced for certain goods does not lead to a decrease in exports of these goods or, in the long run, has virtually no effect on the volume of imports.

Full text of the article is available at: Myths of Technical Regulation in the Field of International Trade (Elibrary.ru)

The research was continued in the article entitled Myths of Technical Regulation in the Field of International Trade: Mutual Recognition Agreements which was published in the second issue of the Standards and Quality journal in 2019. In this article, ITI experts Vladimir Salamatov, Iosif Aronov, Anna Rybakova, and Anna Tangaeva, in collaboration with Olga Maksimova (Candidate of Technical Sciences, Lecturer of the National Research University Higher School of Economics), study the effectiveness of intergovernmental mutual recognition agreements (MRA) which are known as an instrument for reducing technical barriers in trade.

Based on a specific example of the dynamics of export turnover in pharmaceuticals between the EU and Israel from 2001 to 2017, the authors demonstrate that intergovernmental mutual recognition agreements don't necessarily lead to an increase in mutual supplies of goods, nor do they lead to a growth in the number of new exporters. Clearly, however, it doesn't follow that countries should stop making such agreements because MRA do facilitate the process of entering foreign markets.

Full text of the article is available at: Myths of Technical Regulation in the Field of International Trade: Mutual Recognition Agreements

See more works of our experts in the Articles section of our website.

06 февраля 2019
Мифы технического регулирования в сфере международной торговли

Эксперты ITI подготовили исследование для журнала «Стандарты и качество». В работе под названием «Мифы технического регулирования в сфере международной торговли» Владимир Саламатов, Иосиф Аронов и Анна Рыбакова подробно рассмотрели вопросы, связанные с выполнением Программы «Международная кооперация и экспорт», предусмотренной Указом Президента Российской Федерации № 204 от 07.05.2018.

На примерах экспорта отдельных групп продукции из стран Евразийского экономического союза (ЕАЭС) в Монголию, а также введения обязательной сертификации стали в Индии показано, что в некоторых случаях введение технической меры в отношении определенных товаров не приводит к снижению экспорта этой продукции или, с течением времени, практически не сказывается на объеме ввоза.

Полный текст статьи доступен по ссылке: Мифы технического регулирования в сфере международной торговли ( Elibrary.ru )

Исследование получило продолжение в статье «Мифы технического регулирования в сфере международной торговли: соглашения о взаимном признании», вышедшей во втором номере журнала «Стандарты и качество» за 2019 год. Эксперты Исследовательского центра Международная торговля и интеграция Владимир Саламатов, Иосиф Аронов, Анна Рыбакова и Анна Тангаева в соавторстве с Ольгой Максимовой (кандидат технических наук, преподаватель НИУ «Высшая школа экономики») изучили эффективность такого инструмента снижения технических барьеров в торговле, как межгосударственные соглашения о взаимном признании результатов оценки соответствия (MRA).

На частном примере, характеризующем динамику экспортных операций лекарственных средств между ЕС и Израилем в 2001— 2017 гг., показано, что не всегда межгосударственные соглашения о признании результатов оценки соответствия приводят к росту взаимных поставок товаров и увеличению числа новых экспортеров. Из этого, конечно, не следует, что необходимо отказаться от заключения таких соглашений, поскольку MRA, действительно, упрощают выход товаров на рынки других стран. 

Полный текст статьи доступен по ссылке: Мифы технического регулирования в сфере международной торговли: соглашения о взаимном признании

Ознакомиться с другими работами экспертов Исследовательского центра Международная торговля и интеграция вы можете на нашем сайте, в разделе статьи